GRASAG-Legon Judicial Committee Upheld 2017 Election Results

The Judicial Committee of the Graduate Students Association of Ghana (GRASAG), University of Ghana chapter, on Monday 29th May, 2017 gave its verdict on the election petitions filed by some aggrieved members challenging the results of the 2017 executive elections.

The three-member quorum chaired by former Member of Parliament (MP) for Bantama Constituency, Hon. Henry Kokofu ruled that, the results declared by the Electoral Commission be upheld to be the valid outcome of the April 26 elections.

In effect, Mr Ato Brown was validly elected and the desire of the petitioners to have a re-run of the entire election was quashed.

The Committee held that;

1. The claims of irregularities made by the petitioners have not been clearly demonstrated to materially affect the results of the elections.

2. There was not sufficient evidentiary document to support or validate the claims of irregularities made by the petitioners.

3. The claims made were not directly relating to the election results, but relating to the evidence surrounding and leading up to the elections, which should have been raised and addressed before or during the elections.

However, the Committee granted an order to quash the decision to cancel votes from VALCO PHASE TWO POLLING station. The Committee held that, votes from the said polling station be included in the final results.

The Committee reasoned that, not incorporating the votes will mean that voters have been disenfranchised as the already cast ballots would not be reflected in the final results.

On this ruling, the ballots for the candidates for Organizing Secretary portfolio was counted in the presence of all aspirants, their agents, members of the judicial committee and all observers present.

The results of the number of votes that were cast before the shutdown of the VALCO PHASE TWO polling stations are outlined below;


1. Elorm Tagbortor - 14
2. Sylvester Amoah - 14
3. Angelo Norkplim Agbodzie - 15


The above votes were incorporated in the already existing votes. Hence, Elorm Tagbortor emerged as the Organizing Secretary Elect for GRASAG-UG.

To this effect therefore, the committee ordered the Electoral Commissioner to republish the final results which would reflect the votes from VALCO Phase Two for the organizing secretary position.

Also, the Association also received the mandate to go ahead with the swearing in as well as the handover processes in a bid to set her on track for the mantle of new leadership, which hopefully would spur her to higher dimensions of growth.

Share this article

About author's Most Visited Campus And Education News Website!!! Follow us on Twitter (@ghcampus501), Instagram (@ghcampus501) and Google+(Gh Campus), Like our Facebook Page ( and Subscribe to our Youtube Channel (Gh Campus). Send all campus and education Infos to WhatsApp number: 0547000389.

Email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Subscribe to the Newsletter. Get all the Hottest News on your Campus.
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…